top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Lee

What is KNDA Aroma Expert Instructor Course?

Updated: Oct 15, 2022

When you search for aroma learning online, you may find a lot of results in aromatherapy such as NAHA, IFA, IFPA, etc. But if you want to focus on just creating aromas, such as making perfume, aromatic candles, and room sprays instead of aroma massages, healing, and medicines. You may consider the KNDA aroma courses.



KNDA stands for Korea Natural Design Association, it is an association recongised by the Korean government. All courses must undergo the same course structure, course materials, and exams. Candidates who successfully passed the exam of the course will be given the certificates by the association in printed-out form and delivered from Korea to the candidate's home address.


The KNDA Aromatherapy course is a relatively new course. The learning approach was based on the classic perfumery schools' style and a mixture of practical exercises and requires individual projects which require a full development of a final product. Starting with learning the history of aromas and perfume, The ABCs of Perfumery, Synesthesia in aroma products creation, the usage of essential oils, isolate aroma molecules... the course covered from basic to advanced knowledge for you to become an Aroma Expert.


What's the difference between KNDA and KDCA Aromatherapy courses?

Similar to KNDA, KDCA is an association recongised by the Korean government, and they also provide aromatherapy course which focuses on aroma creation. The main difference between the KNDA and KDCA is, KNDA master the skills in creating new aroma formulas with personal characteristics, which mainly depends on the perfumer to create aroma products by themselves. While KDCA will teach you around 30 to 45 classic and popular formulas which you can make on your own after completion of the course but fewer practical exercises and individual projects are required.



The reason why I chose the KNDA Aroma Expert Instructor course...

Like everyone who likes aroma products, I have been purchasing scented candles and perfume for a long time. Of course, I've googled and watched some videos on youtube on "How to DIY..." but I never found the DIY products better than those I purcahsed. Sometimes it's because the smell was not as strong, the aroma wasn't perfect, or the quality of the DIY products was not the best... you named it, I've been through it.


While I was working in the wine industry, there are many tastings and practices for me to identify the aromas from the wine. Then after a few years, I started to search for aromatherapy courses, but I didn't want to focus on creating healing products (natural medicine), I just wanted to create something that smell nice, which helps me to relax. When I first found the KNDA course, there was even less information online. (As I knew more KNDA instructors have opened classes and workshops now). But I knew the school before when I study the KNDA Soy P Candle Flower Instructor course, and this is from the same center where my instructor works.



With my experience studying the KNDA courses, I know it is more suitable for me as they are concerned about original art creations. Instead of learning and making the exact same art and formula, I prefer to spend time studying and have my own creation. In every project, I was able to work on a theme I really enjoyed, and the final products have all become useful for my workshops as teaching materials. And my clients liked it because of its uniqueness.


Next time I will share some of my secret formulas and how to work on the aroma projects.

Thank you for reading.

bottom of page